Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-05-2009, 01:41 PM   #1

Is x-ray safe?

Hi all! I will be travelling abroad in a couple of weeks and it is my first time to carry my photography kit with me. I'll be bringing 2 DSLR bodies with grips, 4 lenses, a flash, chargers, filters and other accessories. My question is, is it safe for DSLR bodies, lenses and memory cards to be x-rayed at the airport? Also, what is allowed to carry onboard and what is prohibited? I have read in one article that a rocket blower was disallowed! Any advice will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

07-05-2009, 02:26 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I've brought my K100D Super along with memory cards and lenses thourgh airport security, x-rays and all, with no problems.
07-05-2009, 04:58 PM   #3
Pentaxian

I can't imagine why anyone would disallow a rocket blower. I've traveled with one before with no problems. With the latest restrictions, I guess lens cleaning solution might be out. That's the only common thing I can think of that might be disallowed.

Although if they really were concerned about restricting sharp objects on planes, they'd have confiscated my DA40...
07-05-2009, 05:25 PM   #4

QuoteOriginally posted by Marc Sabatella Quote
...Although if they really were concerned about restricting sharp objects on planes, they'd have confiscated my DA40...
I had that fear with my FA 50.
I fly quite a lot, with most of my gear. The only thing I check in is a sensor-cleaning kit which uses compressed air. Rocket blower and everything else I can think of go in my photo bag, and are cabin luggage. Never had an issue. Also never noticed any adverse effects of X-ray machines, not even the old fashioned ones you'll find in developing countries.. (not with film, either)

07-05-2009, 05:30 PM   #5
Damn Brit

Loose batteries won't be allowed. They are fine in the equipment, camera, flash but any spares will have to be in checked baggage.