Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-06-2009, 02:11 PM   #1

Cracked Viewfinder

This is all so new to me, I'm hoping you guys out there can help me. Just this morning I took my Pentax K10 out of the case and noticed the viewfinder is completely cracked!!! I am so distraught and have no idea where to even begin repairing this. I have heard that Pentax does not release their parts so I am clueless as to how much this will be to repair it. I have taken pictures with it and everything seems to be working, the viewfinder is the only thing damaged. Any suggestions or price estimate you could help me with? I am new at taking pictures and forums all together. It would help to mention that this camera was a gift but is not new. The owner is upgrading to the new Pentax and was nice enough to give me her old one.

07-06-2009, 02:20 PM   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi,
Welcome to the forum

A cracked viewfinder on a K10D? A few questions:
  • Is the eyepiece glass broken -or-
  • Do you see cracks in the glass when you look into the eyepiece -or-
  • Is the black plastic housing for the viewfinder prism what is broken?
Either way, this sort of damage indicates that the camera took a pretty intense blow (dropped or crushed...that sort of thing). The reason why I mention this is because it is possible that there is damage beyond just the viewfinder.

Steve
07-06-2009, 02:28 PM   #3

Original Poster
Okay- the eyepiece glass IS broken, its cracked - but no, you cannot see it when you have your eye right up against it looking thru. The black plastic housing is intact and just the glass is cracked. Does this answer your questions?
07-06-2009, 03:11 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Welcome to the forums!
Hmmm..sounds like another mystery like the cracked LCD after a plane flight.
I wonder what's ahppening with these Pentaxs'???
I hope this is not bad QC (qualty control).