Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-07-2009, 06:42 AM   #1

Is this lensflare? HELP! [IMG]

Guys, HELP! I've just come back from testing my new Tamron 17-55 2.8 lens with my beloved K200d, and half of my photos have come back with some sort of lens flare issue! It seems to be a lot more pronounced in overexposed & long exposure shots. Is this a fault with the lens, or just down to bad technique? I was shooting with the bundled lens hood but it didn't seem to help at all. I've checked the front and back elements of the lens and it doesn't look like there's any scratches or dust at all?

I really want to love this lens but it just won't work out if all my images are going to end up like this!!

edit: no UV filters used.

edit 2: is this better placed in the lens forum? sorry, I'm a complete newb!

Last edited by hsu1; 07-07-2009 at 06:48 AM.
07-07-2009, 06:55 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
The bundled lens hood won't really help since the light source looks like coming from the object you shoot. Any dust on the lens front element? if not then it really doesn't have anything you can do about it..
07-07-2009, 08:29 AM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by hsu1 Quote
I really want to love this lens but it just won't work out if all my images are going to end up like this!!
They won't - only (some of) the ones with bright light sources within the frame. Same as with any other lens.
07-07-2009, 08:46 AM   #4
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
Direct Flare I think (multiple reflection from internal lens surfaces):

I think the bright light indicated by the arrow is the cause of the flare (symmetrical with the center of the shot.)

The lens is not too bad I think; that light is probably 1,000-10,000 times brighter than the scene average. The lens coatings knocked down the internal lens reflections by a factor of 1,000 at least. Pretty good.

Dave