Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-15-2009, 05:54 AM   #1

Looking to buy Flash for K200D

As the title says i am looking for a decently priced flash that is suitable for the K200D. I will mainly be using it for portrait shots. I am still quite new to DSLR photography but am loving learning all i can.

I was looking around at the Metz 48AF-1, but i would say that would be my absolute max i am willing to spend, being a student. Any recommendations will be helpful, thanks.

07-15-2009, 12:11 PM   #2
Pentaxian

I have nothing against Metz (currently having 3 Metz flash units myself), but beware of a severe limitation of the 48AF-1: it does not its own light sensor. This means:

- It only works in P-TTL/TTL and full manual modes.
- With a lens that is older than PKA (e.g. PK or M42 lens), P-TTL does not work. So you are stuck with full manual. You'll have to manually adjust the aperture and ISO settings depending on the distance from the camera to the subject. It's not difficult, but is clumsy.
- One of the problems of P-TTL is the pre-flash strobe; some people are sensitive to this, and thus close their eyes during the 'actual' strobe. I myself don't use P-TTL in group photos.
- If you use the flash with a non-Pentax camera, you're stuck with full manual mode. Case in point: my backup camera is a Canon G5. If my Pentax 540 didn't have auto mode, I'd have to bring my Canon flash to use with the G5 too. Another case in point: my expensive Minolta 5400HS is now next to useless with my Pentax cameras because it does not have auto mode.

If it were me, I'd buy an inexpensive used flash to use right now, just making sure that the flash has Auto mode (and of course safe trigger voltage), while saving up for a Metz 58 or a Pentax 540.

Last edited by SOldBear; 07-15-2009 at 12:21 PM.
07-15-2009, 03:57 PM   #3

Original Poster
Thanks SOldBear,