Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-15-2009, 05:55 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Raw editing and post processing software for dummies?

When I shot with a film slr, I just took my film to the local camera shop for quality processing. I suppose there were people then that did (and still do) develop their own film, and in fact, my grandfather used to do just that many years ago. I was never even tempted, and never felt the need to go that far.

However, this DIY processing seems to be more of a requirement with DSLR's, esp. the pentax models, so I am looking for some guidance on choosing a good, but not too difficult to learn program to edit and convert raw images. I get the mpression that it's a waste to go beyond the P&S camera level unless one is going to shoot raw and post process (beyond the basics- cropping, resizing, etc.)

I work in the engineering field, and learned to go from graphite and vellum to CAD with just a small amount of effort. So, I do have the ability to learn how to interface with software programs, but something more intuitive than not would be preferred when it comes to Raw editing software. I'm also not looking to spend hundreds of dollars either.

Any ideas as to where to go to research this? I did some searching on the forums, but I don't feel very much enlightened as a result. If there are threads that would be helpful, please help me find them.

07-15-2009, 06:09 AM   #2
Veteran Member

I like Lighzone:

LightZone lightcrafts

They have a free trial and if you like it the purchas price is $99.95USD
07-15-2009, 06:21 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Have you played with the in-camera options for jpegs (sharpening, saturation, etc.)? Or manipulating images after shooting but still in the camera (the so-called "digital filters")? There are some people who never bother with RAW files and do all their work in the camera.
07-15-2009, 07:14 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Ron Bigelow Articles