Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-15-2009, 11:59 AM   #1

Please help me understand!

I am looking for a new lens and I am so confuzed by all the different things, so here are my 3 main questions.

-is there a difference between what prime means and limited means
-is da or fa better
- are limited/fixed lenses faster than a range lens

I do mainly portrait work, but would enjoy playing around with a macro. I have an ist ds and k20d. My lenses are a 28-70mm 2.8, 50mm 1.4, 80-320mm 4. I LOVE my 50mm, but it's a little too "zoomed" for working indoors. I've read about the 35mm macro and just heard of a 15mm? Any suggestions for a great sharp macro lens that would also be great for portraits? Thanks!

07-15-2009, 01:01 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I'm no lens expert, so hopefully someone who is will weigh in soon! Until then, here's the info as I understand it:

QuoteOriginally posted by mchud Quote
Yes, there's a difference. "Prime" just means any lens that doesn't zoom, so it's only one focal length, i.e. 15mm or 21mm or 31mm...etc. "Limited" generally just refers to the build quality and the assurance that you're getting top-quality optics.

QuoteQuote:
-is da or fa better
"DA" just refers to the lenses that are optimized for the cropped sensor on Pentax's digital SLRs. "FA" is from the old film days. So you can use a DA lens on a film camera, but there might be some vignetting because the lenses aren't meant for 35mm film (a cropped sensor is smaller).

As to which is better: I have both, and I wouldn't trade any of them.

QuoteQuote:
In general: yes. There are exceptions. For instance, the DA 21/3.2 is, well, f/3.2 But the DA*16-50, a zoom, is f/2.8 throughout the range. So it's faster than the 21. But the 21 is a heck of a lot smaller, and arguably sharper and with better resolution. But the 31/1.8 IS faster than the DA* 16-50.

QuoteQuote: