Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-23-2009, 06:39 AM   #1

Shooting in low light

Hello,
I am new to photography and Pentax. I have a Pentax K20D and recently purchased a Sigma 70mm-200mm F1.3(I think that is what it is, it is at home and I am at work)anyway, I am shooting pictures at a rodeo. So there is fast action. The lens is great as long as it is daylight but as night moves in it is a problem. Can you help me? What setting do I need to have on my camera. I have it on shutter speed prioity during the day but as night set in I had to move it to Sensitivity with a higher ISO but I lose my fast shutter speed to capture the action. Is there something else I can do?

Thanks,
Lydia

07-23-2009, 07:10 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Light is something you will always need in order to maintain high shutter speeds. Can you post a picture to show us what conditions you are shooting? Other than bumping up the ISO and opening up your lens there isn't much else I can think of that could help. Assuming you are up in the stands shooting and not rail-side I do not know if an external flash will help you much.
07-23-2009, 07:39 AM   #3

Original Poster
I am rail side but a flash dosen't help as they are still to far away. Are there any other places on the camera I should be fixing some of the settings in the menu? I am at work so I can't send a picture right now but there are alot of dark places in the arena. I was just hoping to get some good crisp clear pictures of the bucking bulls but sounds like I will have to try a different arena with better lighting.
Thanks.
07-23-2009, 08:01 AM   #4
Veteran Member