Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-23-2009, 09:02 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Pentax K-M Zoom Lens needed

I just bought a pentax K-m. I'm a long time K1000 user, which I sold a little over a year ago when I moved across the world. My father had one before I was born, so I've had lots of manual experience..but.. not in awhile. I hadn't really picked up the k1000 in a few years since I went digital. I finally got myself a DSLR so I can start caring about that stuff again, so I bought this camera about a month ago.

Last year during hockey season I was taking some shots with a kodak z740, not an impressive camera, but it does have a nice 10x optical zoom on it, which was good for getting reasonable shots of what was going on on the ice without feeling like I was sitting in the next building.

The kit lens that came with the K-M is sufficient for me now for day to day use (the 18-55) but to be honest I don't really find that it has much "zoom" compared to the z740.

So in the next 3 months or so i'd like to find something better and get it. So I'm looking for recommendations. I've had a little trouble finding zoomed in and out comparisons of pentax lenses and I'm not familiar enough with the technical stuff to look at something like a 50-200 and figure out how that roughly translates to what I was getting with the kodak.