Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-23-2009, 02:45 PM   #1

Recommended reading

I am new to this and have purchased a K10D. I am looking for some good recommended reading for my camera and a beginners book on dSLR photography.

Thanks in advance,

Derek

07-23-2009, 03:36 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
Read this article:

Pop Photo - 26 Books Every Photographer Should Own

Personally, "Understanding Exposure" by Bryan Peterson was one of the best books I read, gave me a good grasp of the fundamentals.
07-23-2009, 04:19 PM   #3
Veteran Member

I wikipedia'd everything from ISO, aperture, shutter speed, segmenting, bracketing.... etc..

oh and asked a million q's on here!
07-23-2009, 04:20 PM   #4
Veteran Member

ok i lied. it's clear with my # of posts that it was not a million

07-23-2009, 05:43 PM   #5

My K10 was my first DSLR (and only!) and I did not even know was ISO was when I started! Besides this forum, BetterPhoto.com was my #1 saving grace. (These forums were unspeakably terrific, too!)

Check out the BetterPhoto Bookstore: I reccommend their general book on Digital Photography. It's got assignments and is very user-friendly.

I swear I am not working for them, they literally changed my photographic life, so here is one more reccomendation: check out the BP courses. Their free/sample course alone helped me tremendously. It is not interactive/you dont get to upload assignments, but the lessons are invaluable and FREE.

Good luck on this exciting journey!
07-25-2009, 01:36 AM   #6

Learning the Craft...

The manual for your camera can be useful too .. There are a few e-books on Google.If I have any questions pop into my head Google also has a lot of answers..good luck.....wish I"d bought shares in Google 10 years ago....
07-25-2009, 10:25 AM   #7
Veteran Member