Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-23-2009, 04:55 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Reduce eye strain (glasses & manual focus)?

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie who recently started with a *ist DS and several manual lenses.

I wear glasses and do manual focus with a split prism focus screen. I find my left eye would get very tired after shooting for some time (maybe 30 minutes or so) in low light conditions. This would persist for a day. I wear glasses for short-sightedness and look through the viewfinder on the left eye. Most of the time I try to keep both eyes open and relax my eyes, but this is still not natural and I don't always do it.

I've got my diopter adjusted so that everything is nice and sharp in the viewfinder, although I'm not sure if that's the right thing to do.

I also find manual focus difficult to achieve, although I've only got the diagonal split screen for a few days and I'm still very much adjusting to it.

I mainly work with the Super Tak 50mm 1.4.

I think I'll give my eyes a break for a few days.

Any tips would be most appreciated. Thanks!

Last edited by iht; 07-23-2009 at 04:57 PM. Reason: Typo
07-24-2009, 06:40 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by iht Quote
...Most of the time I try to keep both eyes open and relax my eyes, but this is still not natural and I don't always do it.

I've got my diopter adjusted so that everything is nice and sharp in the viewfinder, although I'm not sure if that's the right thing to do.
Seems you're doing everything right.
I'm not clear if you wear your glasses or not. If the diopter ranges suffices to correct your vision, I think you should avoid wearing them.

Tip1: persist in keeping both eyes open.
Tip1: if possible take some brakes. I think focusing for 30' straight is a long time.
Tip2: consider a magnifier on the viewfinder. It is not to everybody's liking though.