Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-31-2009, 09:20 AM   #1

damaged autofocus?

hello there! this is my first post but sadly I come with a concern...

I have a pentax k20d + sigma apo 70-300 lens that were borrowed for a few hours to a friend of mine. this was all good until he said that he manually turned the autofocus ring when the camera was on SAF (autofocus).
he only turned it when the autofocus was set at the point he wanted not turning the lens one way while it's trying to autofocus in the other.

I know that this isn't OK but what can I say now...so I come to ask you guys for some opinions... Do I have a problem now? How does the AF motor brake or what are the "symptoms" or how could I test the autofocus if it is still running normal?

From what I tested the autofocus still works fine but I have a feeling of frustration about this because I'm no expert...

can somebody help me with some suggestions?

Thanks

Last edited by gizi; 07-31-2009 at 10:10 AM.
07-31-2009, 10:06 AM   #2
Inactive Account

Had my wife do that once. Never again.

It should be OK.
I wouldn't make it a habit though. And don't loan it to folks that don't know what they are doing.
07-31-2009, 10:24 AM   #3
Veteran Member

This is very obvious scenario that could happen with directly coupled AF.
If the camera was designed for real people and by people who are not completely dumb such possibility should have been foreseen. But have a quick look trough the manual - it is always cheaper to write what you can't do, than designing it such way you can't do it.
So thinking logically, camera might not like it too much (like draining excessively at that moment batteries, wearing out gears faster - if done often) but should handle it without damage.