Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-31-2009, 09:58 AM   #1

Old Lens/New Lens

Hello All,
I am a newbie amateur with a K100D super and have enjoyed the portraits I have made with my Pentax A 50mm F2 lens and recently purchased a Sears 50mm f1.4 for $10 and have like the images it has made. My question is this. How much better would my images be if I purchased the newer Pentax autofocus 50 mm f1.4? If the old manual lenses produce images as good as the newer autofocus lenses then why purchase a new one when the old ones are so reasonable. I know there are some situations where an autofocus would help but I learned on the old manual K1000 so this is not a huge inconvenience for me especially for portraits where I have time to set up a shot. Thank you in advance for your answers.
Mike

07-31-2009, 11:08 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The differences are not very large. I don't know a lot about your Sears lens so I'm assuming some things, but here are three reasons why. First, fast 50mm lenses don't vary much in lens design, so I wouldn't expect a huge design advantage for a new lens. In fact, Pentax's design for the FA is 25 years old, and has only changed a little over 50 years. Second, the f1.4 lenses were usually upgrades, so they are meant to be better. Third, your camera is only using the center two-thirds of the lens, and most optical issues are worst at the extreme edges. Fourth, cost-cutting wasn't as extreme then as it is now. Lenses built in the early 70s used construction standards that make today's super-premium lenses look like crap, even if the 70s lenses were ordinary optically.