Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-07-2009, 07:42 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Flash bracket compatibility?

Whilst digging up dad's old gear, we discovered a flash bracket for his Pentax SL, which didn't come with a hotshoe. It looks similar to the one listed here: https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/sold-items/68260-sale-sold-flash-bracket-...australia.html

I've never used a flash bracket before. Am I right in saying that a flash bracket is useful for allowing you to place the flash slightly away from the camera? Is there anything else to it? Why else would you need a flash bracket?

Also, would it be compatible for use on a modern DSLR (my *ist DS) for use on a flash (AF-280T in my case)? Sorry if this is a dumb question, but as far as I can it's just a hotshoe on a metal bar plus handle with the camera screwed onto it through the tripod mount. Does that mean it can be used with any camera?

I could post a picture of it if required.

Thanks a lot in advance!

08-07-2009, 08:23 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Yes, flash bracket helps move the flash a little further from the camera, and some prefer the handling as flash generally alters weight & balance. More modern flash brackets often 'flip' to allow the flash to remain above the camera even when shooting in portrait orientation.

You could use a bracket like that with a D-SLR and a AF-280T but you need a way to trigger the flash--given this equipment you need a cable and adapters for both shoes to trigger the camera. The shoe in the pictured bracket is not "hot", it's just a mount. The AF280T doesn't have a port for triggering by wire. And your DS doesn't have a port for a wire either. So you need some combination of adapters and cables to provide an off-camera hotshoe.