Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-08-2009, 10:11 AM   #1
Forum Member

monopods

I've never used a monopod before, do they really make that much of a difference? What situation would they help the most in?

In terms of make, is it as important to get a monopod from a very good manufacturer as a tripod purchase is?

08-08-2009, 10:30 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Scott,

Yes, they do make a difference.
They are nowhere near as stable as a tripod but are superior to the often shakey human bipod.

They can be carried where carrying a tripod would be difficult.
They can also be used as a hiking or walking stick.
One should try to make a tripod of the monopod and oneself - one monopod and two human legs.

They are invaluable if support is needed where a tripod would be impractical such as arenas and stadiums or parades.
They may also be allowed where tripods are banned as in museums and art galleries.

They should be equipped with a small pan head.

Mickey
08-08-2009, 10:47 AM   #3
PEG Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

Location: Highlands of Scotland... "Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand" - William Blake
Photos: Gallery
As I have said on a previous thread, a resounding yes, just depends on what your using and what your trying to achieve.

Just take a look around at any of the photags at any major sporting event to see what I mean.
08-08-2009, 11:12 AM   #4
Pentaxian

A monopod is the only shake reduction system I have for my DS. It is very handy in low light situations where I've had to shoot at speeds slower than 1/focal length.

DS, DA 50-200, ISO 1600, f4.5, 138mm. 1/60 sec, monopod

DS, DA 50-200, ISO 3200, f6.7, 150mm, 1/30 sec, monopod

I bought a Manfrotto 679B monopod with a Slik SBH-120 ball head from B&H. I looked at a Manfrotto 676B (I think that was the model just below the 679) but it flexed too much. I love having a ball head as it is very fast and easy to go from a landscape orientation to portrait.

Tim