Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-11-2009, 08:29 AM   #1

ZX-50 Lens Compatability

Greetings from a noob,

A couple weeks ago I bought a ZX-50 on ebay for 40 bucks shipped. The camera is in nice condition, and I thought it would make a great camera to learn on before investing 1k on a DSLR.

I have no photography background, but I did take a criminology class in college in which we learned how to use fully manual 35mm SLRs.

Anyway, my problem is that last week while surfing through ebay I saw a Osawa 80-200mm 1:4.5 manual K mount lens for a very low price. The auction was about over, and there had not been any bids, plus it was late at night so there probably weren't going to be any bids. So on impulse I figured, "what the H, I have a K mount camera" and put in a bid. After bidding I did some more research on this site and then I found "Cannot use M, K lenses" on the description page for my camera body.
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/k-mount-35mm-film-af/61278-pentax-mz-50-zx-50-a.html

I received the lens today, seems to be in good shape. It connected right up to the body of course, but will I be able to take pictures? In full manual mode the light meter scale just flashes. In any mode the f stop indicates "F--".

08-11-2009, 01:16 PM   #2

Original Poster
Bump.

08-11-2009, 09:57 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Joe84 Quote
Greetings from a noob,

A couple weeks ago I bought a ZX-50 on ebay for 40 bucks shipped. The camera is in nice condition, and I thought it would make a great camera to learn on before investing 1k on a DSLR.

I have no photography background, but I did take a criminology class in college in which we learned how to use fully manual 35mm SLRs.