Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-13-2007, 08:00 PM   #1

Exposure Comp. Question

I have both a Ds and a K10. The Ds requires no EV compensation but the K10 is very under exposed without a comp of +1.5 regardless of the camera's other settings. A variety of AF and A lenses were tested on both cameras in the P mode using the same subjects at the same time both indoors and outdoors in bright sunlight. The K10 has an attached grip and the ISO on both cameras is set to auto.

Is there a problem with the K10 or is it usual or common for it to under expose without compensation? I'm still learning the camera's features after a few months of ownership but just discovered EV issue with it. Could I have overlooked something?

Any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

John

05-13-2007, 08:08 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by JohnV3 Quote
... the K10 is very under exposed without a comp of +1.5 regardless of the camera's other settings. ...

Is there a problem with the K10 or is it usual or common for it to under expose without compensation?
Have you installed the latest firmware update (1.2)? I am pretty sure someone here noticed that, after installation, his exposures needed less compensation than before. I think I saw the same thing, but I'm not sure.

Will
05-13-2007, 08:15 PM   #3

Original Poster
Will,

Thanks for your quick response. No, I haven't upgraded to the latest version since I'm not into remote assistance at this time. I'm using ver 1.11.

John
05-13-2007, 09:43 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Thanks for your quick response. No, I haven't upgraded to the latest version since I'm not into remote assistance at this time. I'm using ver 1.11.
It is always a good idea to update to the latest firmware if you experience problems. If you have no issues with the camera, I would say the firmware upgrade is optional.