Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-13-2009, 07:16 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
DSLR for beginners

im a beginner and im going to buy my first dslr im considering the Pentax K-m or K200d? or any suggestions. thx

08-13-2009, 07:30 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Why not also consider the K20D? If price is an issue then go for the K-m instead. All are good DLSRs.
08-13-2009, 07:41 AM   #3
Veteran Member

I have a K-m/K2000 and I'm a beginner. You won't be dissapointed, it's a really great camera for a really great price.
08-13-2009, 07:48 AM   #4

I had a K100D as my first camera, and then went to the K2000/KM. Both are great cameras that I found take great pictures. However, the K100D and K100DS shoot better in auto mode compared to the K2000. If you are willing to experiment with AV mode, and manual mode, you will not be disappointed with the K2000.

08-13-2009, 08:03 AM   #5
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I don't think it matters too much with cam you go with.
None of them are too intimidating even for the novice - just a matter of getting used to them and learning how each of the important functions work.

It's of more importance to get the camera within your budget and have enough to have a good go-to lens...
All the best in your decision.
08-13-2009, 08:31 AM   #6
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by rustynail925 Quote
im a beginner and im going to buy my first dslr im considering the Pentax K-m or K200d? or any suggestions. thx
I'm not a beginner to photography, but when I got my first dSLR I went with the K-m. The size was a more important factor to me than any functional advantage.