Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-30-2009, 08:14 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Unsharp pictures

I know photography is an art, and as a relative beginner I realize the answer is practice, practice, practice, but it seems an awful lot of my pictures are simply not sharp, even in bright daylight.

Here's a shot I took at close range (please ignore framing, etc., this was a test shot):

Lens is a Tamron 28-75 f2.8. This was 55mm, f3.5, 1/750, autofocus. This is just an example; I took several others with similar results, and I wasn't able to get anything even decent at f2.8.

I'm aware of the balance between aperture, shutter speed and ISO, and I am able to take a sharp picture now and again, so I guess my extremely noobish question is what is likely my biggest problem? It seems like a lot of my bad pictures are a result of focus problems, but with plenty of light and fast shutter speeds, I don't understand why my photos aren't sharper.

Thanks for reading; check out my flickr page for more samples (but that is mostly my better stuff).

Flickr: DennisH2's Photostream

08-30-2009, 09:17 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Google "depth of field"
08-30-2009, 09:26 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
"I don't understand why my photos aren't sharper."

What part were you trying to get sharper, the flower or the whole scene?
08-30-2009, 09:31 PM   #4
Site Supporter

Original Poster
Thanks.

I understand DOF, although I'm no expert, and I did figure that was one problem, but is anything in that photo in focus? Or is the DOF so shallow nothing looks in focus?

Also, here's another example of a problem photo:

Sunlight (some clouds), 43 mm, f 9.5, 1/750, ISO 200

08-30-2009, 09:36 PM   #5
Damn Brit

The rose looks pretty sharp to me.
You don't say what camera you have and exif data isn't on the images so we can't tell what settings you have (sharpness, contrast etc.).