Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-05-2009, 09:05 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Incorrect bulb mode function?

I just took my new K7 to a night walk.
As it was full moon and a bit foggy night, the plan was to take some "mystic" photos.
But I noticed something weird and as I'm new with DSRL owner, I'd like to share this and maybe receive feedback.

Setting:
Firmware 1.0.1
Remote switch (also did the same using camera's shutter release button)
Bulb mode
Manual focus
DA35 limited lens
Apperture between 4 and 8
ISO 100

On pressing the release button the sound was normal (mirror up and shutter open), but when releasing the button, I could hear a sound like a small motor running inside the camera for about the same amount of time, the shutter had been open. And couple of seconds after this, the image appeared on the screen for review. I made this several times and with different exposure times and the result was always the same.

Is this something that DSRL's do in bulb mode or is my K7 faulty ?

09-05-2009, 09:24 AM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by reytor Quote
I just took my new K7 to a night walk.
As it was full moon and a bit foggy night, the plan was to take some "mystic" photos.
But I noticed something weird and as I'm new with DSRL owner, I'd like to share this and maybe receive feedback.

Setting:
Firmware 1.0.1
Remote switch (also did the same using camera's shutter release button)
Bulb mode
Manual focus
DA35 limited lens
Apperture between 4 and 8
ISO 100

On pressing the release button the sound was normal (mirror up and shutter open), but when releasing the button, I could hear a sound like a small motor running inside the camera for about the same amount of time, the shutter had been open. And couple of seconds after this, the image appeared on the screen for review. I made this several times and with different exposure times and the result was always the same.