Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-14-2009, 08:50 AM   #1

Buying decisions - any input appreciated!

So I just sold my Pentax K100D with a couple Pentax lenses. I thought I was going to buy a Nikon D90, but after much research, I am right back to Pentax. I really want the K7 for the improved white-balance and low light performance, but not sure I can justify the cost over a new K20D for $620 from Amazon. Any thoughts on the K20D vs K7? I'm not a professional photographer, just really enjoy shooting but was frequently frustrated by the white-balance and high ISO performance of my K100D. It turns out, after talking to a pro photographer friend, that the low light issues were more a result of low-end lenses rather than my 100D.

Second question is for a lens suggestion. I want to go with a fixed aperature and am looking at the Pentax 16-50 f2.8, and the Sigma 18-50 f2.8. The Sigma is $270 cheaper, but from what I've read both lenses have some significant quality control issues. Does anyone have experience with these lenses and can point me in the right direction? I don't know that I'm knowledgable enough to know if I end up with a good or bad copy of either lens. Thanks!

Kenneth

09-14-2009, 09:21 AM   #2
Forum Member

I bought a K20D in July when it was $699 on Amazon and if I had it to do over again right now, I'd buy the K20D for $620. There is no way I could personally justify paying twice as much money for a camera with only moderate improvements. The white balance improvement is one that might be worth paying a little extra for, but not twice as much. Maybe if the K7 was $850 or something, I'd consider choosing it over a $620 K20D. If you want to buy the camera right now and price is a significant factor, I think it's a no brainer. Why not get the K20D and use the savings to get another nice lens?
09-15-2009, 05:41 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery