Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-16-2009, 07:11 AM   #1
Inactive Account

First Sports Action Shots

Hi Everyone,
I am new to DSLR photography and am having fun learning more about it.

I Have a k2000 and took some shots of my son's football game last weekend. Your thoughts and comments are appreciated.

The complete album

09-16-2009, 07:26 AM   #2

You obviously have made great progress in mastering the DSLR as the pictures are sharp and well focused. I would, however, use a lot more cropping to isolate the action. Kids milling around are not that exciting. Delete shots that don't show some interesting action. I also use and like the K2000.

Last edited by tarsus; 09-16-2009 at 07:27 AM. Reason: Add text
09-16-2009, 10:03 AM   #3

You got some great shots. Very colorful and sharp. I agree with tarsus comment in using some cropping to focus on the action either with a zoom or with post processing. Keep up the great work.
09-16-2009, 01:12 PM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Idaho, you've picked a tough sport to shoot because you can't easily see the player's faces.

What I like about photographing U7 soccer this year has been the drama on the kid's faces (often a group of them) and I love capturing them when they're trying so hard e.g.

I use a K20D with DA 55-300/F4-5.8

General comments:

1. Your shots appear fairly level. Are you using a tripod? If not, I'd suggest using one as it reduces the PP work a bit.

2. They appear well lit. I try to get the sun behind me, but with young soccer they're using smaller fields sandwiched very close side-by-side and I often can't stand on the right side. This means I've got to play with EV & curves in PP and the grass gets yellowish (1st shot).