Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-25-2009, 12:01 PM   #1

Should I keep the K20D I just bought?

After much deliberation and research, I have purchased a K20D.

What I need from this community is help in deciding whether or not to keep it.

The story:
I missed the boat on B&H's $619 closeout (and I can't find anything close to that online anymore), so I headed to my LOCAL CAMERA SHOP (wow! what a concept!) thinking, "Well then, I'll just support the local economy, and, shucks, they even give a couple free classes with the purchase of a new camera." I ended up buying their DEMO K20D for $649 (throw in tax and a "deal" on an 8gb SDHC class 6 card at $20, and my total was $717). It's got a few scuffs on the metal ring thingy onto which you attach the lens (I'm a camera noob)... evidence which suggests they've swapped lenses on the thing no less than 180 times. There are a few minor scratches on the bottom of the body. Other than that, though, it seems to be in pretty decent shape. As for shutter count (which apparently is a big deal, according to some on this forum), I have no idea what it is, though I haven't looked very hard.

[By the way, I'm going to buy a Pentax 18-250mm as an all-around lens til I figure out what the heck I'm doing with photography and decide what other lenses to buy. Haven't even bought that yet by the way. (Yeah, I'm pretty much shooting from the hip on this one.)]

Anyhoo, I'm not so sure I didn't get hosed on the "deal". On the one hand, I don't mind paying a bit more to A) support a local camera shop and B) get the DSLR classes that come with the purchase, but on the other hand, I want to make darn sure I'm getting a good camera. I'd rather know I was the one screwing things up and not previous handlers.

I'm also not a good decision maker, and any outside input is greatly appreciated, WHICH is why I'm reaching out to this fine forum for help.