Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-29-2009, 06:43 PM   #1

K2000 Manual Lens Metering Problem

Hi everyone,

I've been loving my K2000 until just recently when I started playing with in manual mode with an old K mount "A" lens. I was trying to play with it out of the "A" to see how it would feel to have an "M" lens and noticed something awful peculiar.

Basically I've noticed that when using the "+/-" button to set the shutter speed, the camera practically refuses to go above 0.7" for a shutter speed. no matter how low the light is or how small i set the aperture. sometimes i can get to give me the same shutter speed from an aperture of 1.7 all the way to 22 (i'm using a 50mm f1.7 A lens). Now when I switch the mode to aperture priority and move the aperture band on the lens to A, it will give me much slower shutter speeds (5", 20", etc).

So what gives? Is it that the light is too low to correctly meter in low light on a manual setting? Is something wrong with my camera? Any thoughts?

Any help would be greatly appreciated as I'd love to be able to delve into some really affordable M series lenses - part of the whole reason I bought a Pentax!!
thanks!
-emre

09-29-2009, 07:04 PM   #2
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi emre.
So are you doing these adjustments in Av or M mode on the camera?
I can't think of a reason why it won't exceed 0.7" if set manually. I assume you've ensured the camera's set to accept non-A lenses (allow use of aperture ring in non-A setting).

Are you depressing the shutter button halfway to engage the metering when you change the aperture ring setting? If not, try changing the aperture then depress halfway and see if the Tv changes.

Any other settings on the camera you've got on that may affect this shutter speed?
09-29-2009, 07:41 PM   #3

Original Poster