Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-30-2009, 08:13 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Macro help? (lots of questions)

Hi,
I have been getting some great help from this forum! Thanks to everyone However, the complete newbie that i am, i am still lost in a lot of places.

I have been researching macro gears for a few days now, trying to see what is out there....also a thread on this forum yesterday lead me to want some extension tubes.

I do have some difficulties, a lot of the pictures of bellows, macro rails, etc, are of these accessories, and i dont exactly know how people are using it.

So here are my questions or findings....please correct me if i am wrong :
- Closer inspection of macro rails seems to suggest that it sits on a...tripod, and it basically moves the camera back and forth to help with focusing?

- Bellows also sit on the macro rail, and ...(help me here) errr, is basically what extension tube is...except its on this accordion shape that allows it to be further extended or reduced, unlike a fixed extension tube...

- extension tube will help me with my image magnification....and the magnification, people are giving examples, would be the: extension tube mm/the lens focal range mm.....so 50mm extension tube / 50 mm prime lens = 1:1 magnification, regardless of the existing prime lens magnification.

What would this mean if i have a dedicated 1:1 90 mm macro to begin with?

- Also, the working distance for this dedicated macro i am using, as i find out, is painfully small. (maybe several inches?). Is there a math to calculate how much will be cut by the extension tubes?

- Currently, i am overexposing all of my shots with on-board flash...with a longer extension tube, am i correct to assume that this will be less of a problem ?