Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-30-2009, 10:33 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
New k20d owner

Greetings all -

I just purchased the k20d body from HSN (I work there and received a discount). Very excited about turning SLR photography into a hobby!

I haven't decided on a lens yet and was looking for suggestions. I'd like to start with something fairly inexpensive at first (I have a cat receiving chemo treatments right now which is draining my wallet).

Naturally I'd like to be able to take walk around photos of family, pets, etc. - but I'll also be taking a lot of sports photos - triathlon specifically. I'm a private pilot and will also be taking a lot of aerial photos, and around the airport shots, including aircraft taking off and landing.

Would greatly appreciate any lens suggestions. I'll probably have to start out with some general and then work my way up.

Thanks in advance, looking forward to taking part in this message board community!

09-30-2009, 11:00 AM   #2

Did you buy body only? Or did you also get the kit lens? The kit lens (18-55mm) is really quite a decent lens to learn on, but even better (in my opinion) is to get the 18-250. It is sold by Pentax and/or Tamron. The Tamron has a longer warranty and is the exact same lens from all accounts I have read. The benefit of this lens is a one-lens-fits-all solution. The drawback is that the IQ (image quality) might suffer a bit when compared to prime lenses (those that do not zoom) or lenses with less zoom. This is the lens that stays on my camera and only comes off when I have specialized needs.
09-30-2009, 12:13 PM   #3

Original Poster
I bought just the body. I'm thinking of getting a 50-200 first because what I really need right now is to take photos during a triathlon. I can wait for the close up and portrait shots. Thank you for your advice, though - I'll definitely check out these lenses!
09-30-2009, 01:00 PM   #4
Inactive Account