Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-04-2009, 03:12 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Shutter Problem on K2000

Hello!

I'm a newbie, just googled Pentax K2000 problems and came across this site. So glad I did.

I have had my Pentax K2000 for only 9 months or so. It has been an incredible camera for somebody like myself, very photographic illiterate.

As of yesterday, my shutter started acting strange, very slow to react. I figured it needed new batteries. I put brand new lithium batteries in today and tried to shoot some close up shots. Same problem, but worse, the shutter reacts in very, very, very sloooooooooow motion. I can't even take pictures, because if I happen to move a teeny bit in the four or five seconds it is taking to react, and snap the picture, the picture is blurry. I tried changing lenses, thinking that was the problem, and still the same thing.

Can anybody help me? I'm just sick about this!!!!

Thank you in advance!

Lori

10-04-2009, 04:18 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Can you upload some examples? What mode is the camera in? What shutter speed do your shots report?
10-04-2009, 04:37 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Yes, samples please - preferably with EXIF intact.

It sounds like that either you are taking reeeally long exposures - like 4 or 5 sec - or you have the self-timer set in the menu, so there is a 2 or 12 second delay.
10-04-2009, 05:16 PM   #4
Inactive Account

Original Poster
Wow, thank you so very, very much for the quick responses! Well, I'm sorry to be such a dunce, but how can I upload some examples? Do you mean examples of the pictures? That I know how to do, but I'm not certain that is what you are asking for?!

I sure will check the self timer, and see if that is it?!
I did have the ISO set at 200 and changed it to 100. Is that something you need to know?

THANK YOU SO MUCH AGAIN!!!!
Lori

10-04-2009, 10:23 PM   #5
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery