Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-10-2009, 02:49 PM   #1

Happy New K20D Owner

I am new to the world of DSRL. I just received my new Pentax K20D SRL camera. I am so excited. I have been taking pictures of everything that I can to get my feet wet.

I am a writer and I plan to use my camera in conjuction with my writing, writing is my primary focus.

I bought it with the kit lens 18-55mm ALII. Since I am so new I am pretty happy with the lens that I have as a everyday use lens.

I would like suggestions regarding a lens with a longer range or greater zoom as a second lens.

10-10-2009, 07:58 PM   #2
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
Congratulations. Enjoy that new camera. What kind of budget do you new for that longer lens?
10-10-2009, 08:07 PM   #3

Original Poster
On a Budget

I am on a tight budget especially since I don't know what I'm doing.

After I have enough experience to know what results I want to get, then I can invest in something really special.

Also I would like a lens to get really great close-ups. I know that I said that I wanted to get long distances shots. Can I do all this with two lenses or will I need three?
10-10-2009, 08:08 PM   #4
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome phplady,
A fine camera you have
And what do you intend to shoot at this longer range.
For general purpose I would not look much further than Pentax's own DA 55-300 lens (see this website's lens review database for more info and reviews). Other budget lenses don't quite make the mark but there are better - these are of course a lot more expensive...

10-10-2009, 08:11 PM   #5
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Just saw your response.
How close up are you talking about?