Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-13-2009, 11:43 AM   #1

k-x or k20d (used)?

I am having a very hard time to decide on these two alternatives...

I am new to SLR. But I am willing to learn.... I am willing to hold a big camera, at least give it a try.

Your two cents please!

10-13-2009, 12:07 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

It's really hard to say until the K-x gets into people's hands. My guess is there won't be much to say between them image quality wise. I'm very interested in seeing how the new sensor compares to the K20 sensor.
The K20 ergonomics are very good, and it isn't a huge camera, I expect the K-x will be more like a mini K-7. If this is the case, it might well be the better buy.
10-13-2009, 12:30 PM   #3

Photos: Gallery | Albums
i'd go with the K20D unless k-x has better IQ or AF speed.

reasons-
K-x doesn't have top lcd, no front e-dial, which you'll find very helpful once you get used to it. on K20D you can change ISO, shutter, aperture, metering etc all with dedicated buttons, which k-x doesn't seem to have.

K20D is weather sealed, K-x is not.

i don't care about video.
10-13-2009, 12:30 PM   #4

Original Poster
Decision, decision, ....

More comments please!

10-13-2009, 03:46 PM   #5

Photos: Gallery
I'm certain that both cameras are very capable of producing nice shots.

I had the chance to try out a K20D for a week, and just didn't bond with it. Basically it didn't fit my hands well. I ended up buying a K2000, and just love it. In fact, one of the shots I took the first day out with it, ended up being published on the front page of the local paper.

I recently tried the K-7, and I liked it so much that I bought it. The viewfinder is outstanding!