Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-17-2009, 02:47 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Portrait Question...

Hello I am new to photography and have been trying to get portraits down...i would like to know if this setup would work...a white backdrop lit by two soft boxes at half power flash...with the person in front of the backdrop and the flash from the soft boxes..then the flash from my k20d to light the person. so in order it would be me (photographer), the person or object, then the soft boxes, then the backdrop. And also is the portrait setting on the k20d the best for portraits? I have the stock lens

10-18-2009, 02:49 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I don't like the flash on the camera in this setup, but would have to see some results to comment on it. Are you using color filters on the softboxes?
There is a lot of good documentation on the internet on this topic.

Also benjikan did a lot of work on this, you may want to search this and other forums for his contributions.

Good portrait photography takes more than lighting alone. You may want to google: "Rules to good portraiture: by Benji" as a starter for reading on the topic as well.

- Bert
10-18-2009, 04:12 AM   #3
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the forum.
As Bert says it's hard to know what kind of results you'll get until you produce them. And again, onboard flash is a most primitive option that will stifle lighting creativity.
Use the softboxes with a wireless/off-camera strobe setup (if you have it).
It will offer you much more in terms of texture, use of directional lighting and a flattering lighting effect that suits portraiture well.
The as Bert says also, work on what makes portraiture work (pose, framing, makeup, dress, etc.)
10-18-2009, 05:02 AM   #4
Forum Member