Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-19-2009, 09:06 PM   #1

Low Light Photography

I'm a newbie who just got the k2000 package with 18-55mm and 50-200mm lenses and it's been great so far. I've been trying to stick to Manual or Aperture Priority mode for just about every shot as I don't want to use my slr like a point and shot.

These lenses have been good so far but I've noticed it's pretty hard to get good shots without flash indoors in dimmer lighting. I've gotten some decent ones but it wasn't easy considering I had to set it to pretty slow shutter speeds and I wasn't using a tripod.

I don't have a ton of money right now so I'm just looking for a good lens to use in low lighting that won't break the bank and will hold me over until I can afford a really nice one. I'm mainly taking pictures of family indoors so I guess a lens with a fixed focal length in the range of my first lens (18-55mm) should be good.

Right now I'm looking at these two prime lens.
SMC Pentax-M 50mm F1.7
SMC Pentax-A 50mm F1.7

I'm seeing the M much cheaper than the A in most places and it seems like the perfect cheap option for me. I've read that the only difference is that with the M, I'll only be able to use it in manual mode and with the A I'd be able to use it in Aperture mode and such. Is this correct? The only problem I'd see with these lenses is that I'd have to rely on manual focus but I like the fact that I'll be in total control of what I'm taking pictures of by being in manual mode and manual focus. Sure there will be a learning curve but that's part of the fun when it comes to SLRs.

I'd appreciate anyone's input regarding these lens or other lens recommendations. Thanks.

10-20-2009, 12:59 AM   #2
Damn Brit

Welcome.
The kit lenses just don't have a wide enough aperture for a lot of indoor work.

The 50 f/1.7 is a good lens , either the A or the M.