Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-22-2009, 05:40 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Will a K20 ovewhelm a newbie? Am I bettr off with a Kx?

Title is pretty much self explainatory

10-22-2009, 06:15 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Heyas...i am a newbie too I got myself a K200D...the predecessor of K-x. I think, you will find that any camera will have the same level of challenge to a newbie...and the reason is because the complexity really isnt in the camera, its in the concepts.

Imagine the camera as a computer mouse, different shaped mouse, with 2, 3, 5 or even 6 buttons. But once you figure out how a mouse work, you always know, right? Whether its microsoft intellimouse, or logitech mouse.

I was trying my friend's sony camera yesterday. It has basically everything my camera has, just different button placement.

So what is it that really makes it tough for us newbies to learn DSLR? Well, you need to understand the concept and relations between :
- Aperture
- Shutter speed
- Focal length
- Exposure

to basically use your camera in manual mode. Then comes lighting...flash...ergh >_<
But...ALL that said, all dslr have an auto-shoot mode just like your point and shoot camera. So none of the dslr should overwhelm you at first, you can learn it at your own pace, and if you need something in a hurry, switch to auto shoot.
10-22-2009, 06:29 PM   #3
Veteran Member

errr...and just after i posted that....

they came up with a mouse with 0 buttons...>_<
Apple puts touch "Magic" in computer mouse - Yahoo! Canada News
10-22-2009, 06:35 PM   #4
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Neither is a bad choice for a newbie that is keen on learning about photography.
I'd have no problem recommending either, but I prefer the K20D/K-7 at this stage only because of its array of customisable features and dedicated grip.

K-x will just add a new dimension to low-light photography, though.

10-22-2009, 06:50 PM   #5
Ash