Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-23-2009, 02:43 PM   #1

50mm - what's the appeal?

I'm fairly new to photography (aside from auto mode point and shooting), so please don't take this as a dig, but I'm just wondering why many seem mad keen on 50mm prime lenses?

I routinely see Pentax-A 50mm f1.7 or f1.4s going for over twice what I paid for a mint Pentax-F 28-80mm zoom (heavier, but sharper than the later FA version), and auto focus examples seem to go for almost as much as I paid for my K-m. What's the appeal?

10-23-2009, 02:47 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
they are fast, and usually quite compact

I wouldn't give up my M 50mm F/1.7 for the world
10-23-2009, 02:49 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
When I want a certain effect the 50mm f1.4 can't be beat.
The same goes with my 55m f1.8
10-23-2009, 03:12 PM   #4
Veteran Member

They have much better image and are much faster.
Your zoom have F4-5.6 quality inferior to F1.7 quality of Pentax F 50mm.
And I really think is you wait enought you can get AF versions for much less.
Manual lenses are also very useful and are quite cheap.

10-23-2009, 03:22 PM   #5
axl
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by little laker Quote
When I want a certain effect the 50mm f1.4 can't be beat.
The same goes with my 55m f1.8
I hope I can get one of those sometime relatively soon...

anyway, fifties? what's the appeal.
Well, there is millions of them. From f1.2 to f2.
They are some of the fastest lenses, and some of the best too.
It's hard to find bad fifty (by Pentax) I don't have first hand experience but I'd say even the x50/2 (considered by many the weakest of 50s) spanks F28-80 at comparable aperture.