Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-26-2009, 09:59 AM   #1

Pentax cont. AF really that bad for kids sports?

In the next month or two I intend on upgrading from an old 35mm Canon EOS 600 to a DSLR. After considering the T1i, D90 (used), 50D (used), D5000 and the K-x I had pretty much settled on the K-x. My application is 80% kids sports (soccer, basketball, baseball) and a 20% motorsports/family stuff. That is until I read that Pentax's weak area is continuous AF. Am I making a mistake in going for the pentax with these applications? Should I reconsider the Canon?

My budget is <$1000 body/lenses that cover ~30-300mm (35mm equiv). I am a novice photographer.

Thanks,
Jon.

10-26-2009, 10:55 AM   #2
Dom

Don't listen to all the naysayers when it comes to Pentax auto focus, OK it's can be a tad slow in comparison to a camera that is twice the price, but if your aware of this it'll mean you'll develop proper technique and not really solely on the equipment to do all the work for you.

I personally get stunning results when I'm shooting fast action with my K20D.
10-26-2009, 11:19 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Perhaps you should ask a store to try it.
My K-7, with a comparable AF system speed I believe, has little problems with birds in flight, I do however use the camera in single AF mode.
The critics stem mostly from anything before the K-m/K2000 model (introduced last fall).
And yes, a D300 will have better continuous AF.

You should ask yourself if this is the most important application and shooting mode, if it is, you may not want to buy a K-x.
10-26-2009, 11:35 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I took some HS sports with a K10D and had no problems. And my first DSLR was a couple months ago - I borrowed the K10D days before I shot.

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/post-your-photos/77498-sports-some-field-...s-12-pics.html