Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-29-2009, 06:59 PM   #1

Using a DSLR (more specifically K200D) HELP!?!

Hi guys, I'm new to the DSLR scene but after coming back from a trip overseas when realizing that everyone carries one with them, I decided to come back and purchase my own DSLR. I did some research and at the time found the K200D to be in my budget and for my needs.

So, after purchasing it I didn't know how to use it properly. Sure I can go to the preset settings and snap photos with it, but I could never take a good shot of something at night or of a moving object.

I was wondering if you could help me with some guides or instructions on helping me use the camera. The instruction manual that came with the camera was useless as it didn't tell me anything. I have downloaded an eBook; "Canon DSLR The Ultimate Photographer's Guide" only because there wasn't one for Pentax. In addition, I have found a video on how to use the K200D here: Pentax K200D Made Easy Training DVD but for $59.95US I believe its quite expensive and not worth it.

My current gear:
Pentax K200D
Pentax 18-55mm lens
and arriving is a Sigma 55-200mm lens.
...should I buy a mini extending tripod? 5-9"?

10-29-2009, 07:05 PM   #2
Veteran Member

I've never found DVDs to be much help. If you post some of your photos on this thread we can go through and give you advice on how to improve!
10-29-2009, 07:41 PM   #3

Original Poster
Here we go...

Better photos: ImageShack -

Bad photos: ImageShack -

I don't save too many of the bad photos so yeah...

All those taken with Pentax 18-55mm lens.

Last edited by khaz0r; 10-29-2009 at 07:46 PM.
10-29-2009, 08:11 PM   #4

at night or moving object or even hard moving object at night, you would need fast enough shutter speed(SS) as to prevent motion blur due to longer ss, open up your aperture and increase iso to get fast enought SS or use flash. Have fun shoots around sooner or later you'll get it.