Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-01-2009, 10:05 AM   #1

Book Question

I have just moved to W. Africa and seem to be getting time in the evening to read a lot. The problem is I don't have a good book- being a new photographer I want to pick up a book that is almost a photography course in a book. Anyone got any ideas on a great book that I should pick up?

Thanks in Advance

11-01-2009, 12:12 PM   #2
Damn Brit

Most people will recommend 'Understanding Exposure' by Brian Peterson which is a very good book. There is also the 'Digital Photography Book Vol I, II and III' by Scott Kelby which is popular. I've just come across 'Light and Lens - Photography in the Digital Age' by Robert Hirsch, it's one of the course books for my photography class. It's probably the most expensive of these suggestions but it's pretty comprehensive as it covers all aspects of photography from the basics to post processing to colour management to critiquing. It also has exercises for you to do in most chapters so may be the one that fits your needs the most.
Of course it's usually best to get a variety.
11-01-2009, 01:09 PM   #3
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
You'll find the evening the best time to go out and take photos!

Most of the basics are covered by sites mentioned in this article:
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/photography-articles/23232-learning-basic...echniques.html

Gary's suggested excellent books to read - I can vouch for Brian Peterson's books (Understanding Exposure and Understanding Shutter Speed).

I also made a few other references in my post on your sunset thread in case you were interested.

All the best in your journey learning about the art of photography!
11-01-2009, 03:17 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums