Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-09-2009, 12:17 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
RAW vs JPEG for a poster sized print

I'm new to all of this. My basic understanding is that RAW allows for extensive post production, but that JPEG is rather limited and has a smaller file size.

Here's my question: If I want to enlarge a print into a poster size to display on a wall, does it matter if the image was a JPEG or RAW for the image quality? Will RAW always be what I want to use for enlarged prints?

Thanks!

Coach Teeter

11-09-2009, 12:36 PM   #2

Hey Coach, RAW images have to be converted before they can be printed. The RAW image is the actual data recorded on the sensor, so it will always have more data than a processed JPG. Therefore it is easier to manipulate and there is more information to modify to allow for changes in white balance, changes in available light, dynamic range, color devations, etc. Most printing places will only accept .jpg or .tiff images for printing. Shoot the shot in RAW, edit and post-process, save to .tiff or .jpg THEN send it to the printer for printing the poster.
11-09-2009, 12:43 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Hi Coach. You may get some differing viewpoints here but if you're just looking to re-size a print then it being JPG or RAW is irrelevant. The more important thing is the size of the actual print. The general rule is that its better to shrink an image than to enlarge it.

But you're not out of luck, there is software available that can do a great job of upsizing. Take a look into Alienware's Blow-Up or Genuine Fractals (my favorite). Of course, these are not perfect. If the original print isnt that high a resolution (72dpi or so, but Ill assume you're not trying to enlarge an image you got from the net) then you might run into trouble.

I've enlarged shots from my k200D up to 20x24 with great quality.
11-09-2009, 03:31 PM   #4
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums