Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-12-2009, 08:32 AM   #1

When autofocusing, best to choose a point?

Hello friends!

I am rather new to digital photography, but eager to learn.

As far as focusing goes, my kx has a few options (5 points, 11 points, manual between those eleven points and 1 point).

Which should I be utilizing, or is it a matter of what kind of shot I am looking for?

I assume automatic is going to try to get many shots in focus? If I only wanted, say, a single item in the bottom right to be in focus, I would chose the 11 point and move it over there?

Thanks for helping this noobie!

11-12-2009, 08:38 AM   #2

You COULD choose one and move it there, or you could also use the center point, then focus on that specific item you want in focus, then hold the shutter halfway down while you recompose your shot, then push the shutter the rest of the way down.
11-12-2009, 08:45 AM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by clmonk Quote
You COULD choose one and move it there, or you could also use the center point, then focus on that specific item you want in focus, then hold the shutter halfway down while you recompose your shot, then push the shutter the rest of the way down.
Thank you for the quick response. Sorry for the clarification, but how can I focus on a specific item while I am centered? Assuming that the item is not in the center of course.
11-12-2009, 09:51 AM   #4
Pentaxian

If you leave the AF point on the center, you focus and recompose. It's explained in the manual, but briefly, you focus by pressing either the AF button (if equipped) or a partial press of the shutter button and then recompose the picture (move the camera until you like the composition in the viewfinder) while keeping the button pressed (if using the shutter button).