Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-14-2009, 01:26 PM   #1

need help are all k mounts compatible

im a total newbie and know nothing at all im here to ask for my dad he used to be into photograpy but then stopped he now wants to get back into it again but needs an update

he has an old pentax k mount camera and lots of lenses he has said that k mount used to be the standard for pentax camera lense mounting

he wants to replace the camera as its very old and we dont know if it even works as it hasnt been used in probably more than 10 years it the type that has the cylinder shaped film and he wants to go digital

the problem is he doesnt want to replace all the lenses just the camera so was hoping it was posable to get a cemera that uses the old lenses

the camera he has at the minute is a pentax me super and thats all i can find on it
iv got one of the lenses that fit it under the glass front it says smc pentex-m 1:1.7 50mm asahi opt.co. japan and then it has more writing around the outside hoya 49mm uv[0] japan

Pentax ME Super - Camerapedia.org this is the camera

Pentax 50mm f/1.7 SMC-M this is the lense i have in my hands but he has more if more info is needed

please help this will absolutly make his christmas if i can get a new camera for him

if you need to now any more info i will try my best but like i say i know nothing about this

thanks in advance

11-14-2009, 01:41 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
The lens would be usable on any of the current Pentax digital bodies. Obviously it wouldn't auto focus, but it would be very useable. There are plenty of folks on the forum who only use lenses like this.
11-14-2009, 01:43 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Beginner's Corner Q&A

Hi! Welcome to the Forum!