Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-14-2009, 08:03 PM   #1
Veteran Member

How do you get noticed online?

Hi, I'm fairly new to using Flickr and have looked at the sign up process for sites like istockphoto, but not that flickr gives you the ability to track your views. I have one question...

How do you get noticed and generate a following online?

I'm not saying I'm anything special, but what do people generally do to draw attention to their work or become part of a community of feedback within flickr itself?

Thanks.

11-14-2009, 08:49 PM   #2

Photos: Albums
the fastest way is to post a nude pic of yourself
11-14-2009, 09:01 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Why do you want people to notice your photographs? I'm not being a smartass and don't really need to know the answer--but you do. Anyway, my answer to your question is "participate. There are plenty of opportunities to put up your work here and other places. After a while folks will look out for your stuff and want to check it out (or avoid it ;~)
11-14-2009, 11:05 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Flickr lets you track your stats and referrers, but you're going to have to pony up a few bucks for a "pro" account.

Merely putting photos on Flickr is not enough to get them noticed. There are zillions of photos on Flickr, and if you expect anyone to see your photos you have to put a little work into it.

Compare this photo on your stream and a somewhat similar photo on my stream. Look beneath the photo and at the right side of the page. What do you notice?

Your photo caption is blank. Mine contains some information. You have added your photo to no relevant groups and have added no tags. Mine is grouped and tagged appropriately.