Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-14-2009, 08:59 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Why a Pentax FA50mm f/1.4 ?

I am a noob to DSLR, waiting for my online bought camera to come in to my custody...surely nest week. I am also waiting for my Sigma 17-70 lens to arrive. My questions are, after browsing around:

.1 Why do so many poeple say the everybody should have a 50mm lens?

.2 Is thePentax Fa 50 f/1.4 a good lens, and to what use? (and is it a "limited" or "prime"?)

.3 What would the 50mm 1.4 give me that the Sigma 17-70 won't?

Thanks!

11-14-2009, 09:16 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
1. Because in film days or in Full Frame senor, 50mm focal length "generates images that generally look "natural" to a human observer under normal viewing conditions"

2. FA 50mm f1.4 is a good Prime(single focal length) lens, the max aparture of f1.4 allow you to let more light pass through the lens to the sensor, which able you to take shots easier in low light situation. Max Aperture of 1.4 also give you a long range of aperture setting where you can control how narrow or far the depth of view will be; which able you to take more creative shots.

3. 50mm f1.4 is a small lens, so it is lighter to carry around with your camera. And as i said before it has max aperture of f1.4, so you have more control of the depth of view, and able you to use lower ISO/faster shutter speed in low light situation.
11-14-2009, 09:27 PM   #3
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Where else will you find an f/1.4 lens for so cheap?
Why is that so important?
Have a look at what the 50mm lens has captured - it is probably third in line for being the quintessential portrait lens, for a fraction of the price of the first two lenses.
11-14-2009, 10:07 PM   #4
Ari
Veteran Member