Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-18-2009, 08:23 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Question about K-x

Hello all.

I received my K-x today and have been looking through the manual. So far I have resisted the urge to slap a lens on and start firing away.

Since I am new to this, I wanted to ask the more experienced if there are any settings on the K-x that you would recommend I use other than the defaults.

Thanks.
Bill M.

11-18-2009, 09:07 PM   #2
Pentaxian

It really will be a learning experience to uncover.

However, for run of the mill shooting, I prefer P mode over auto(a bit more flexibility), though you might find auto helpful in learning how and why certain settings are used.

Whatever you do, don't resist!
Put on those photog glasses and start capturing your surroundings!
11-18-2009, 09:41 PM   #3
Forum Member

if u realy want to master all aspects of photo - use only A, S, M.
I shoot in A like 90% (or 99% if exclude studio, flash and sports shooting)
11-19-2009, 01:18 AM   #4
Forum Member

A mode will be the most used. Photograph the same thing with a tripod. Change the numbers in A mode. When I started I did this for a while. It gave me a basic understanding of what I wanted in my photographs. Enjoy your purchase

11-19-2009, 02:09 AM   #5
jup
Forum Member

It's really best if you find for yourself what settings suit you most. For example, one of the first things I did was changing AF button to work as auto exposure lock, because I really can't take pictures without AE-L. But I am sure some people here would prefer to keep it as AF, maybe even turning off AF on shutter half press... Your millage may vary.

So I'd say just go out and shoot. K-x defaults work just fine. Then you can always go back and read the manual thoroughly or just experiment with various setting. K-x makes learning fun.
11-19-2009, 08:13 AM   #6
pbo
Veteran Member

Yep, as jup said. Try for yourself.