Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-22-2009, 02:02 PM   #1

dust problem?

I've only had my KX for a few days now. I'm brand new to photography and i thought i've done a good good changing lenses quickly and safely, but i apparently still managed to get some dust somewhere inside. I've done the dust mapping and removal thing but i still have a small dark spot showing up in the same spot in all of my pics. What can i do to remedy this?

11-22-2009, 03:40 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Google "rocket blower". That will turn up lots of references to the most common solution, as well as references to the other methods that some prefer.
11-22-2009, 04:31 PM   #3
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Dust inevitably enters the camera. Usually it will go away with a decent blow of the sensor and a few passes of the dust removal mechanism. Not sure about the K-x, but the K20D and above models have very effective in-camera dust removal functions. I've never had to dry/wet clean my K20D or even K10D sensors to date, whereas I did for my old K100D and *ist D.
11-22-2009, 05:00 PM   #4

Original Poster
the weird thing is it's there with both of my lenses but depending on what i'm focusing on, the dot is also either in or out of focus as well. Does this make sense?

11-23-2009, 11:46 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by iggy373 Quote
the weird thing is it's there with both of my lenses but depending on what i'm focusing on, the dot is also either in or out of focus as well. Does this make sense?
Ai, shit happens....

The visibility of dust particles on the sensor is influenced by the aperture of the lens, not focus. In case you use a small aperture (high f number), it becomes much more visible. An open aperture (small f number) will fade the specs.
If a rocket blower does not help, you can go to a camera shop.
Here in my town cleaning will cost you 20.