Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-22-2009, 07:11 PM   #1

decisions ....

I'm about to leap into the DSLR realm and have been eyeing the K200D. But it seems time is short as the stock of this item seems to be low now that the K-x line is coming out. It looks like I better buy quick while I can.

So, the question is, do I go with the K-x or the K200d (which I thought would be a good fit for me, novice user who wants a user friendly camera he won't grow out of too quickly). I like the idea of weather resistance , though I hope not too be shooting in the rain. So I see the issue of the cmos vs. ccd sensor but can somebody point out some of the other (practical) differences.

I am a beginner and obviously need to learn quite a bit yet so any advice is appreciated.

11-22-2009, 07:26 PM   #2
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I believe the CMOS disadvantages look to be sorted out with the K-x.
It's a fine sensor that performs excellently both in high-ISO and long exposure situations.
I would say the K-x is a better buy overall, but weather sealing is a good bonus to have in the K200D in case this is ever an issue.
No other major practical differences that I can see - just a matter of personal preferences.
11-22-2009, 07:59 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by chip1257 Quote
I'm about to leap into the DSLR realm and have been eyeing the K200D. But it seems time is short as the stock of this item seems to be low now that the K-x line is coming out. It looks like I better buy quick while I can.