Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-01-2009, 06:17 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Web albums: Picasa vs. Flickr

Hello. I'm a recent K100D owner and have been lurking here for awhile. This forum has been invaluable for opinions and comments.

I want to see if anyone can give me some reasons as to why I should shell out for a pro Flickr account and make that my primary web photo site instead of the free Picasa web albums, especially I already use its desktop application?

I'm a fairly rudimentary user and don't do much post processing at all. I've dabbled with Adobe Lightroom, but decided to stick with Picasa's all-in-one solution. I use it to download, store and catalog my photos and upload to the web album.

12-01-2009, 06:40 PM   #2
Pentaxian

I'm a very casual photographer (if I can even call myself a photographer) and I basically use the Picasa solution. It works well for me and allows me to share photos with family and friends very easily. My understanding is that Flickr has much more in the way of social aspects, but that isn't important to me.
12-01-2009, 08:37 PM   #3
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I appreciate Flickr as its JPEG resizing algorithms are excellent - sharp images stay sharp viewing them through Flickr, which couldn't be said for most free photo hosting sites.
12-01-2009, 09:25 PM   #4
Inactive Account

QuoteOriginally posted by Ash Quote
I appreciate Flickr as its JPEG resizing algorithms are excellent - sharp images stay sharp viewing them through Flickr, which couldn't be said for most free photo hosting sites.
This is one of the reasons why I prefer flickr over free hosting sites.

12-02-2009, 01:01 AM   #5