Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
12-04-2009, 08:14 PM   #1

Interior photography

Hi, I am a novice to say the least and need to acquire a camera/lens that will enable me to take good quality interior home shots. What would you recommend that would not be cost prohibitive? Thank you!

12-04-2009, 08:41 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Presuming you are using a dslr, something with a pretty short focal length.
The 12-24 zoom is quite nice for interiors, though I don't know what you define as cost prohibitive. It isn't a cheap lens.
Something to consider is, if you can, learn how to do stitched panoramics. It's not so easy in small areas because of the difficulty of swinging right around the nodal point, but it's doable, and with a bit of care it can be done successfully.
There are panoramic heads for tripods that make it much easier, but by the time you get one, the lens would probably be looking cost effective.
12-04-2009, 08:45 PM   #3
Damn Brit

Welcome.
It's possible that you most cost effective and easiest to use option would be a point and shoot camera that has a panorama stitching feature.
For a DSLR the cheapest option would be to as a kit. The kit lens will be 18-55mm and you would probably be using it in the 18-28 mm range.
Buying used will obviously lower costs.
If you go the DSLR kit route, that would give you the advantage of being able to buy better lenses (zooms or primes) as your skills improve.
A tripod should also be considered a must have item as you should expect to have fairly long exposures.
12-04-2009, 09:00 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Any Pentax body would work fine. The cheapest lens that would do an adequate job (in my opinion) is the 16-45. You can usually find them on the pre-owned market for $225-275. It is relatively wide (35mm equiv. = 24mm) and is close to distortion free.