Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-08-2009, 10:06 PM   #1

Focus Question - New to Photography

Here's the situation, I just got my first tripod. I am trying to take a self portrait. And I set the timer to 12 sec. My question is lets say I press shoot, and then move to the desired position. How will the camera know to focus in to my position rather than then wall that way behind when I pressed shoot. I am new to photography and just got my K-x.

Thank You!

12-08-2009, 10:22 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The camera guesses. It has several points in the frame where it checks for high contrast, like the edge of something. (I forget how many points the K-x has, 9 or 11.) It looks at the data from each point, then uses some logic to pick a likely point. Then it tells the lens what to do to get that point in focus.

The lens will actually have a range of distances in focus depending on what aperture is chosen. It's never just one point. The larger the aperture number is, the greater the range that's in focus. Also, the greater the distance from camera to subject, the greater the range in focus. This is called depth of field, and a full discussion of it would cover at least a chapter in a book, so I'm just giving the high points here.

The camera also won't focus on most walls because they have no contrast. Try pointing the camera at a wall that's painted all one color with no texture. It will usually try and fail to focus.
12-08-2009, 10:42 PM   #3

Original Poster
Thanks for the reply. I actually understand what you're saying. While I know the camera focuses when I hit the shoot button, does it refocus when I actually move to the desired area in front of the camera [this is on a 12 second timer] or does it stick to the initial focus point with me not in the picture.
12-08-2009, 10:44 PM   #4
Ole
Administrator

Photos: Gallery | Albums