Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-12-2009, 07:11 PM   #1

Christmas boat parade help needed

Tomorrow night I will be going to the Huntington Harbour Boat parade and I will be taking photos. I am a total newbie at night time photography. I have the K 100D with various lenses and a sunpak 383 flash. I will be on a boat taking photos of moving boats decked out for christmas. I am looking for help on camera settings. Iso 400 or auto? white balance auto or? Aperture, shutter speed? I will be using a tripod. Thanks in advance for any and all help.

12-12-2009, 10:35 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
It's not going to be an easy task as for night shots you will be looking at long exposures and the movement of the boat is going to create problems, even with a tripod. You will need to shoot at very high ISO to get a shutter speed fast enough to overcome the boat motion unless the boat you are going to be on is very, very large and securely anchored as not to drift.
12-12-2009, 11:04 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
A lens that has f1.8 or lower and is still fairly sharp, if you can pan the ship, you should be able to get some great shots. I usually shoot normal Christmas parades without lighting.....boats should work well...
12-13-2009, 07:45 AM   #4
Inactive Account

QuoteOriginally posted by ozbuc Quote
Tomorrow night I will be going to the Huntington Harbour Boat parade and I will be taking photos. I am a total newbie at night time photography. I have the K 100D with various lenses and a sunpak 383 flash. I will be on a boat taking photos of moving boats decked out for christmas. I am looking for help on camera settings. Iso 400 or auto? white balance auto or? Aperture, shutter speed? I will be using a tripod. Thanks in advance for any and all help.