Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-14-2009, 07:25 AM   #1
Inactive Account

body, lens, use question for *ist DL

I currently have the *ist DL and use a SMC Pentax-FA 80-320mm 1:4.5-5.6 lens on it. I primarily use it to take pictures of my son playing baseball. Two things are going on that is either me or the camera. First, some of the pictures are blurry because the auto focus grabs onto something else. Second, the frames per second seems a little slow on this camera but I'm not sure if it is the camera or the lens. Can someone help answer these questions.

I'm an amateur and I'm also looking for some help on the settings to use for taking the baseball pictures. Like what should I use on sunny, cloudy or night games.

If I should get a new camera, what should I get. Should I get a new body and lens kit or just a body and use my existing lens? I don't want to spend a lot, maybe up to $700 for a kit.

Your thoughts are appreciated.

12-14-2009, 07:33 AM   #2
Veteran Member

The DL is an older model, and definitely much slower FPS than the newest Pentax bodies. The lens is also decent, but definitely not the best for sports photography.

The new Pentax K-x is definitely a good option - better low light performance, AF that will blow the DL out of the water, and 4.7FPS shooting.

The K-x/18-55/55-300 combo kit Pentax has for sale might be a good option. Although not the fastest lens, the 55-300 is a solid performer, good image quality wide open and it retains f4.5 through about 200mm, so it will perform decently at night (assuming the field is reasonably well lit). The K-x also has an option for catch-in-focus - essentially you'd place the lens in manual focus, then focus on the spot where you want to catch the action. Hold down the shutter, and when the action is in focus the camera will start snapping photos - this method works well for sports.