Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-14-2009, 11:48 AM   #1

Flash

I just recieved my K-x, and I'm lovin it. I'm still learning how to shoot indoor, and I wanted to get your opinions on flash. I've read that the pop up flash is really harsh for indoors, and I've noticed the photos look a little washed. Turning the flash off the pics look better but harder to keep out the blur.

Should I get bounce flash or a lightscope to use with my pop up flash?

12-14-2009, 11:57 AM   #2
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi there.
Pop-up flash diffusers are available but they significantly decrease the flash's range and I don't believe the results from that setup will be anywhere near as impressive as that from an off-camera or bounced flash.

If you're keen on indoor shooting and want to get good results, I'd suggest a flash with bounce and swivel capabilities. If funds don't permit for a P-TTL flash (see this guide: Pentax P-TTL Flash Comparison: The Definitive Guide) then consider a non-dedicated manual flash that you'll have to learn how to set up to get the results you want.
12-14-2009, 12:36 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Twix Quote
Turning the flash off the pics look better but harder to keep out the blur.
That's all about shutter speed - blurry pictures means too slow a shutter speed To get a faster shutter speed, you need a larger aperture (smaller f-number) and/or high ISO. Your camera lets you turn up ISO pretty high and still not have too much noise, so you might be OK just doing that. But in order to get a larger aperture, you'll probably need a different lens - one that lets you increase the aperture to f/2.8 or more. That' why you see so many people talking about "fast" lenses.
12-14-2009, 06:02 PM   #4

Flash