Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-15-2009, 08:38 AM   #1

Help with Pentax K1000

An absolute beginner with SLR's.
I got a Yashica Pentax K1000 with Asahi 50mm 1:2 M lens.
How good is the camera and what would be the scope of photography with
this setup? I mean.. someone told me SLR is best for street photography and
more realistic pictures..
The lens too looks scary.. many many settings.. could someone suggest
me the best settings and how do I go about taking pictures. Please! :P
Thanks in advance. :-)

12-15-2009, 10:20 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Let's hope it's an Asahi Pentax K1000 - Yashica was another camera maker.

In one respect, all 35mm film cameras are the same. They hold the film in a light-tight box until you open the shutter. Then the film goes back in the dark until you develop it. The shutter timing needs to be accurate, the meter needs to work, and you have a fully functioning camera. Although the camera can add many more features to this process, all working cameras are going to produce the same results with the same film, lens and settings. The K1000 is considered a good camera because it does those basic tasks well, but it has no features. It's all up to you.

You need to choose a film. Film has an ISO number stating how sensitive it is to light. Higher numbers are more sensitive. Lower numbers typically have a finer grain for a smoother look to the photos. ISO 100-400 is somewhere in the middle. Then you should consider how you want to view the photos - as color prints, color slides or black and white prints. Getting anything other than color prints developed is harder today.